Chiweenie Update

If you have read this blog before, then you know that I have a Chiweenie, Tucker, and a Chihuahua, Frida, and have posted about them not infrequently. I have to say, as a new “owner” of (though, in reality, it’s more like I’m “owned by”) each of these breeds, I am utterly entranced by each of them, not to mention astounded at their popularity and the traffic they have brought to this blogsite. Who woulda ever thought?!

Tucker, just yesterday, lounging in my arm chair, where I am supposed to be able to sit and do my deep-thinking kind of work. (Maybe he's doing it for me?)

I adopted Tucker, a Chiweenie, from the local Humane Society, in September of 2008. But NOT because he was a Chiweenie. In fact I didn’t even know Chiweenies existed at that time. I got him because, well, first of all, I fell in love with him, but secondly, because I had three very large dogs and wanted a smaller dog who would be a good watch dog in the house (not that my big dogs don’t come in the house — they do, any time they want, but I just wanted a little dog too). And, I ask you, which small dogs are known to be more fierce and watchful  than Chihuahuas and Dachshunds, which is what Chiweenies are made of?

So, a good friend, who just so happens to be President of the Santa Fe Animal Shelter & Humane Society, said, “We have just the dog for you,” referring to Tucker … and the rest is history.

So, not to ignore or in any way put my adorable Chihuahua, Frida, into the shade here, I felt it time to report back on all the reasons why yes, in fact, the Chiweenie is the absolute, most incredible, delectable, desirable small companion dog imaginable. (And it’s not because the Chiweenie is a “designer breed” [spare me, please] and oh so popular now.)

Here’s my Chiweenie Update and Report. Here are the things I notice about this particular new “breed” of dog. I have no idea how they compare with other small dog breeds, but I submit this for your perusal and pleasure, should you be thinking of becoming the human companion of a Chiweenie.

NUMBER ONE: I have never met a more joyous spirit. Tucker was picked up “on the streets,” a stray, at 2 or 3 years of age, unneutered and terribly underweight, and was in the shelter for almost a month before I adopted him. In no way did his joie de vivre suffer. He has the most playful spirit of any animal in my experience. Now how many of us could say that after the hardships he went through?!

NUMBER TWO: I have never met a more alert and watchful guard dog. (And yes, people are afraid of him, all 18 pounds of him.)  Yet he’s totally sane. Tucker responds to just the right things, at just the right time. But, if I tell him “It’s okay,” he settles down and welcomes the new guest or situation. In fact, he loves them. In fact, he cuddles in their lap and wins them over …  forever. More than one person has said they want to take him home with them.

NUMBER THREE: I have never met a more loyal companion. Granted, I adopted Tucker from the Shelter, so in a sense “saved” him (and I do believe rescue animals know when we ‘save’ them and are forever grateful), but, I tell you, this little guy would literally kill for me, if he were just big enough.

NUMBER FOUR, AND MAYBE THE MOST IMPORTANT: I have never met a dog more adoring, loving, and devoted than Tucker. What can I say.  Just thinking about Tucker’s devotion brings me close to tears.

If you have a Chiweenie, and would like to add comments, I would love to hear them. And I will incorporate all of them into another, future blog. Because I am now a true fan of the Chiweenie.

And yes, by all means, if you are considering a Chiweenie companion, please, be my guest … and enjoy one of the best dog rides of your life!

*****************************************************************

FOR MORE ABOUT CHIWEENIES, CHIHUAHUAS, TUCKER, & FRIDA:

Chihuahua vs. Chiweenie

The Devotion of Our Rescues – Including Mine

How to Keep Your Chihuahuas & Chiweenies Happy, Healthy, & Wise

14 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by goprosperous: RT @herbsandanimnals Chiweenie Update http://bit.ly/90BQTJ

  2. 2

    […] here: Chiweenie Update « A DAY IN THE LIFE … of an animal communicator Categories : Dog Breed […]

  3. 3

    Denny said,

    I have had Robbie ,a chiweenie, for 6 years. I just found out last year that this is what you call them by people stopping me at a harborfest in Morro Bay, CA.

    My wife and daughter got Robbie as a puppy when i had open heart surgery. The doctor wanted them to get a small puppy to lay on the pillow you hold to your chest when you cough during recovery. The combination of warmth and comfort do wonders for you, and you create a bond that lasts a lifetime.

    The owner of the pet store was a family friend and gave him to us and I now believe that this breed is one of the best suited for the job. He is the nicest, friendliest and most loving dog I have ever had. If the gate is left open and the other dogs trot out, he will not leave. When I lay down on the couch and cover up, he jumps up and digs under the covers to lay next to me. And the cutest is when he’s on his dog bed or across the room and I motion with just my finger to come to me, and he will stop doing whatever he’s doing and come snuggle against me. He doesn’t bark unless someone comes in the yard and has a great mild temper.

    I going to stop rambling and just say you can’t go wrong with these little guys
    Thanks for letting me share

    • 4

      Hi Denny,

      Thanks for sharing such a wonderful story. I’ve never heard of a doctor/hospital even ALLOWING such a thing as a puppy in the room! What a fabulous thing to do, and how lucky you were. Yes, these little dogs are truly a blessing. I could go on and on and on and on too. I loved reading your post — thank you so much for sending it.

      Leta

  4. 5

    Niki said,

    I too have a rescued Chiweenie and couldn’t be happier! Granted, he is quite a handful (loves to shred used puppy pads), he is everything you say and more!
    I got him from his rescuer. She found his mom on the side of the road, pregnant and starving. A couple months later, Archie was brought home to start our life together. He is the first animal I have ever own completely myself and I am head over heels. I call him my “son” and everyone calls me “Archie’s mom.” He can’t stand for me to be out of eyesight and, honestly, I can’t stand for him to be too far either. He has recently found his voice and is a barking fool. He loves to tear up paper like a goat. He is always willing to grab a sock out of the dryer and force me to chase him to get it back. He has the saddest puppy-eyes you’ll ever see and I hate leaving for my 12 hour shifts at the hospital. One day I am going to set up surveillance and see what he does all night while i’m gone. He is the best snuggle-buddy, must be under the covers with at least one toy next to him. And he is a maniac for a treat!
    I can’t say enough good things about him. It’s tough raising a puppy but he goes in the books as one of the best I’ve ever had!

    • 6

      Hi Niki –

      Thanks for your comment. Archie sounds absolutely adorable, and I wish I could see a picture of him. My Tucker has his own version of “shredding,” to which he is firmly addicted: tearing open his toys and eviscerating them — pulling all the stuffing out. He is manic about it. My theory is that this impulse in Chiweenies comes from the Dachshund side, a breed that was bred to dig into burrows and hunt down the small animals who inhabit them.

      Keep up the good work with Archie, and mainly, enjoy the Chiweenie Love!

      Leta

  5. 7

    Kim said,

    Umm.. I have a Chiweenie female fixed. I’ve had her for 1 year and she is lovable but her yapping drives me up the wall. She yaps at everything. Yes I am constantly training her and she is slowlllyyy getting better. She is a great watch dog for sure. What she hates is the sound of a news paper being rapped on a table, it stops her yapping. No, I’ve never used it on her either, something about the sound, one day I was reading the new paper and she started her yapping and I threw down the paper to go see what she was defending the house from and she stopped and looked over at me.. LOL so now when she gets excessive with her yapping I just need to grab a paper and she stops.

    • 8

      It sounds like you have a good solution, and one that doesn’t injure your dog or put her in danger. My little guy only barks when he has a good reason, but sometimes it’s so sudden, and he’s so shrill, he has me jumping out of my skin for a moment! But he’s worth it — he’s such a joy! Thanks for writing. Leta

  6. 9

    Felix said,

    I just rescued a chiweenie from the shelter last week. Sandy is about a year and half old from cali. She loves to hangout at the house and feel loved. Anytime a male friend of mine comes over she goes right at him and seems to want to attack. She hasn’t bit anyone but gets pretty crazy. Just woundering what’s the best way to have her settle down when a friend of mine comes over. When its my mom or sisters she’s relaxed and plays with them

    • 10

      Hi Felix – I’m so sorry. I thought I had replied to this some time ago, but it looks like I either dreamed it or it didn’t go through. 🙂 I’m not a dog trainer, but what comes to mind is for you to choose some very special treat that Sandy loves (you may have to experiment ’til you find the right thing) and then have strangers who visit offer her one as soon as they enter your house. If she’s afraid of men or aggressive toward them, it’s probably because she has had a bad experience (or more than one) with men before. So work especially hard with the males. That said, she may always have a little trouble with them, so be patient with her. I do have a feeling it’s based on fear more than anything else though, so for her to have a good experience with some new males might very well help. Good luck! Leta

  7. 11

    judy greger said,

    my chiweenie is 2 years old should i have him nuetured?

    • 12

      Hi Judy – I think you probably should. If he gets loose, he’ll be much more likely to get in trouble (and roam in general) if he’s not neutered. Plus, personally, I feel spaying and neutering should be done to as many dogs and cats as possible in order to avoid overpopulation. So many wonderful dogs and cats end up in the shelters, eventually being euthanized, simply because there are too many on the planet. You might go ahead and have him microchipped at the same time so that he can be identified if he DOES get away. If he takes after the dachshund part of himself, like my little Tucker does, then “following his nose” could take him far and wide! I work very closely with the local shelter here in Santa Fe so see way too many sad cases of not only lost animals but “surplus” animals nobody wants. So those are my suggestions. In any case, I hope you find your little Chiweenie fellow as delightful as I find mine! Thanks for posting.

      ‘er=

  8. 13

    When I was looking at shelter animals I avoided anything that said Chihuahua cross. I wanted a little dog that was sturdy enough to hang out in the barn with me, which meant the little spindle legs were out of the question, plus the ones I’d been exposed yap constantly, which makes me more than a little crazy. So what did I come home with? A chiweenie that was both younger and smaller than I was looking for. Yet I wouldn’t trade her for the world. She inherited the dachshund legs (or else she wouldn’t have come home with me) and now that she’s a year and a half has really started to broaden and fill out. She doesn’t look like a ferret anymore. She barks, but it’s not out of control and usually only happens when the other dogs alert to something. The other day, we were treated to her howling, which was hysterical. She can be a little shy when she first meets someone and is introverted in new situations, but otherwise might be one of the happiest dogs I’ve ever met. She’s also high energy which makes me very grateful that she’s out in the barn with me all day long and is ready to crash when we settle into the apartment at night.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

